© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

7/23/2014 1:10 A.M. ET

White Sox gain on pair of reviews vs. Royals

CHICAGO -- The Royals challenged an out call on Jarrod Dyson, who led off the fifth inning of a 7-1 win over the White Sox on Tuesday night with a grounder that sent second baseman Gordon Beckham onto the grass for a nice stop.

Beckham whirled and threw quickly to first baseman Paul Konerko, and Dyson was called out. After an instant replay review in New York, first-base umpire Andy Fletcher's call was allowed to stand.

In the fifth, the White Sox challenged that Alexei Ramirez was safe at second after he was picked off first base by Bruce Chen. Ramirez used his patented swim move to avoid the tag of shortstop Alcides Escobar, and video replay overturned the out call to give Ramirez a stolen base. Ramirez was doubled off second on Conor Gillaspie's ensuing line drive to Escobar.

With the game tied in the sixth, Billy Butler and Raul Ibanez doubled off of White Sox starter Scott Carroll to give the Royals a 2-1 lead. Alcides Escobar followed with a perfectly placed bunt single to put runners on the corners with none out.

Carroll made a seemingly innocent throw to first baseman Konerko to keep Escobar close, but replays showed that Escobar's hand jammed on Konerko's foot and he appeared to be out. Ventura came out after Escobar had taken time to check on his hand, but home-plate umpire and crew chief Mike Winters did not go to the review because replay regulations stipulate that a manager must initiate a challenge prior to the pitcher taking his place on the rubber, and the batter entering the box.

"I noticed he went back weird, like I thought he hurt his hand," Carroll said. "I thought the play was close, but I didn't know if the replay showed he was out or safe, but if it was something they couldn't review, I don't know. It looked close."

"That was a weird one," White Sox manager Robin Ventura said. "They called down and said he was out. By that time, the guy is already in the box. But Paulie didn't even notice it either. It wasn't one of those ones where a guy is waving you out."

Dick Kaegel is a reporter for MLB.com. Scott Merkin is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Merk's Works, and follow him on Twitter @scottmerkin. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.